General Magic: The Gathering discussions

8/5/2012 10:40:01 AM

komathedestroyer

komathedestroyer

okay so i am a noob and posted this in the wrong section. I do know how to play the game and im no stranger to tournaments. But as im new to playing this card game i have some questions.
1. What is so great about delver?
2. What cards are good trade fodder atm. I dont feel like carrying 5 boxes worth of cards to every tournament lol
3. i need help on my deck to make it ready to bring to my local hobby shop. Mostly need sidedeck help but deck suggestions would be nice to

thanks in advance

8/12/2012 4:29:34 AM

ducky9924

ducky9924

I'm not a delver expert, but let me take a wack at that first one...

In Magic, blue is the color of manipulation, mind games and tricks. In the hands of someone who knows what they're doing, blue is always dangerous. If the other colors are pro wrestlers, blue is a ninja.

In the current standard, that means Delver.

The Deck is named after Delver of Secrets. (obviously). If you drop it first turn, and luck out, you could be swinging in with a 3/2 flier on 2nd turn. If you don't luck out, but have a ponder, you can use that ponder to guarentee it flips and you'll be swinging in with that flier on 3rd turn instead.

Add a stack of cheep instants/sorcs and a Runechanters pike. (Gives +1/0 for each instant/sorc in your GY) and you have a powerfull flier at your disposal.

Meanwhile Mana Leak, vapor snag, gut shot, dismember, ect keeps their threats at bay, while Gitaxian Probe makes sure you know what threats are coming.

Oh, and all those lovely instants/sorcs you've stuffed the deck with? Once they're in the GY, you can re-use them via Snapcaster Mage. And then once the Snapcasters on the field, you can REUSE the snapcaster to reuse another spell in the GY.