Discuss any rulings and questions here

8/18/2012 8:27:59 PM

SpaceTitan

SpaceTitan
Posts: 53

I had Blightspeaker(T: target player loses 1 life) on the field. I had a Vampire Outcasts in my hand. I tapped blightspeaker and brought out V.O. as a 4/4. My friend argued that if the card said "lose life" that it wasn't "damage" and that bloodthirst didnt work. I believe I was right in what I did, but we want to be sure. Please enlighten my friend and I

8/18/2012 9:47:51 PM

Zoharu

Zoharu
Administrator
Posts: 1172

Your friend is right in this instance. Bloodthirst only works if an opponent was "damaged" in the turn, but "loss of life" isn't synonymous "damage" in magic. They're different effects. Another example of this difference is how loss of life bypasses Worship since losing life isn't the same as "damage"

--
MTG Deck Builder's friendly moderator and DCI Rules Advisor

Follow my twitter: @RayZoh

8/19/2012 3:26:16 PM

SpaceTitan

SpaceTitan
Posts: 53

Awesome! We had a feeling that they were different effects. Thanks for clearing that up for us!

Copyright(c) 2009-2014, David Corona

Wizards of the Coast, Magic: The Gathering, and their logos are trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, LLC in the United States and other countries. ©2014 Wizards. All Rights Reserved.